overclocking processor

Chit chat
Blahran
General
General

overclocking processor

Post by Blahran »

Question for the computer ''nerds'' in the guild

Im thinking of overclocking my processor of my computer.

My question is wil this increase FPS in game or is it not worth the risk of destroying my computer?
Fenz
old man

Post by Fenz »

If it isn't broken, don't fix it!1
Last edited by Fenz on 16 Sep 2009, 12:02, edited 1 time in total.
I ain't leaving without your soul and I am sober this time.
Dosan
General
General

Post by Dosan »

I have some good experiences with overclocking my cpu. Normally overclocking a cpu for gaming like FPS-shooters isn’t worth it because it wont increase your fps alot. But for wow it helped quite a bit, especially in dalaran and other crowded places.

The main thing you need to examine before beginning with overclocking is the stability of your mainboard and RAM. Also you need to know the current cpu temperature while your pc is idle and when your pc is on full load. You also need to thermal capacity of your cpu (the maximum allowed core temperature).

This a small program which can measure the core temperature of your cpu:
http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

To measure the temp of your cpu under full load you need a program which can stress the cpu for the full 100%. Here is a program which can do this:
http://download.chip.eu/nl/download_nl_794865.html

(These programs are also needed to test the stability of your system when it is overclocked 8) )

The stability of your mainboard is a bit hard to determine, the best thing you can do is find out if other people did some overclocking with your mainboard or if there are some good reviews of it. Good reviews normally test mainboards on overclocking capability. For the stability of the RAM you need to know the different speed's it can run on. For example: DDR2 800mhz (2x400mhz) can also run @ 667 or 466mhz. Also you need to know your motherboards FSB.